Our People

Dr. Murali Sastry: CEO

Dr. Murali Sastry is one of India’s leading nanotechnologists and brings with him close to 25 years of experience in the field of materials chemistry. An author of over 360 international publications, 10 chapters in books and an inventor of 20 Indian and US patents, Dr Sastry is well recognised in the Indian and global markets as a leader in his field.

Taking on the role of Chief Innovation Officer at Tata Chemicals in 2005, Dr Sastry established an innovation centre that delivered the award-winning Swach nano-silver water purifier. In November 2011, he moved to DSM India, where he was Director of Innovation incubating new businesses for DSM in areas of national relevance.

Dr Sastry has served on the International Advisory Board of seven leading chemistry journals and the advisory boards of various government departments. His current research interests include developing new industrially-relevant renewable materials, ethical issues in nanomaterial application, and addressing societal challenges via cutting-edge technology.

Dr. K. S. Nagabhushana: COO

Dr. K.S. Nagabhushana did his research in the area of Natural Products Chemistry. He was a Senior Researcher in the Max-Planck Institute for Coal Research from 2002 to 2004. He was a faculty in the Manipal Institute of Technology, before shifting to Industry in the year 2008. He was a Senior Scientist in Tata Chemicals Limited, Pune. He worked there for 8 years till 2016. He joined the Academy in February 2016 as the Chief Operating Officer. He is in charge of the Academy operations and the laboratories.

Kiran More: Head (Finance & Legal Affairs)

Kiran is in charge of Finance and Legal Affairs of the Academy. He is the sole point of contact for the students and supervisors to enquire about their research budget.

Beena Pillai: Admissions Manager

Beena is in charge of the Admissions process in the Academy. The Academy has two student intakes in a year. Beena organises the interviews for both the intakes and is the point of contact for any issues regarding the student admissions.

Laya Vijayan: Examinations & Social Media Manager

Laya handles the Examination process for the Academy students. Once the student completes his/her Pre-synopsis, the student should contact her to know about thesis submission and further steps. She will communicate with the External Examiner and rest of the panel and assist the student and supervisor in arranging the defense. She also manages the Academy’s Twitter handle, Facebook page and LinkedIn page and the content for the Academy website.

Jayasree T: Candidature Manager

Jayasree is in charge of the student candidature from the time they get admitted till they complete their Pre-synopsis. She is the point of contact for the students in case of any issues they face during their candidature and Monash stay extension. She handles the student scholarship and booking of the Academy Video conference rooms.

Nancy Sowho: EA & Head (Administration)

Nancy is the Executive Assistant (EA) to the CEO & COO. She manages their appointment calendars. She is in charge of the Academy Administration. She also handles the student enrolments’ (once they get admitted) and their Monash travel.

Karan Singh: Assistant (Administration) & Maintenance In-charge

Karan Singh is the Assistant Administration & Maintenance In-charge . He is responsible for maintaining safety in the laboratories and ensuring smooth functioning of the Academy building.

Uttam Khot: Lab Assistant 

Uttam Khot is a Lab Assistant. He is responsible for providing support to the students and staff working in the Bio Lab, Material Characterisation Lab, Chemistry Lab and Earth Sciences Lab at the Academy.

Support Staff:

Rahul Ingle

Bharat Ingle

Chhaya Sonawane