4-member DBT delegation visits the Academy

The Academy was delighted to welcome a four-member delegation from the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Govt of India for a review meeting on 14 June 2019. The delegates were Dr. Meenakshi Munshi, Dr. Suraksha S. Diwan, Dr. Sabhyata Bhatia and Dr. Asif Mohammed.

The day commenced with introductions and setting-of-context by the Academy’s CEO Prof. Sastry and Dr. Munshi. Prof. Sastry presented an overview of the DBT-supported PhD program in the Academy. This was followed by a series of presentations by the students and supervisors being supported by the DBT. The student-and-supervisor-teams spoke about their research work, the progress and the direction in which they aim to proceed.

In the second half of the day, the Academy’s COO Dr. Nagabhushana showed the delegates around the Academy building, including a visit to the state-of-the-art laboratories housed within. They also had interactions with some of the start-up companies and Industry partners based in the Academy.

Demo by Dr. Nagabhushana

Academy-DBT partnership: an overview

In order to strengthen links with the government in the area of biotechnology, basic biology and devices, the Academy had submitted a proposal to the Department of Biotechnology, Govt of India in May 2016 to support joint PhD students. After reviewing the proposal, the DBT sanctioned an amount towards support of costs for 65 PhDs in the dual-badged joint PhD program of the IITB-Monash Research Academy over a period of 10 years beginning January 2017. A list of the Academy’s students supported by the DBT as of June 2019 is appended below in Table 1.

Table 1: IITB-Monash Research Academy Students supported by the Department of Biotechnology

No Student Name IITB Department Research Topic Supervisors
1 Manasi Prashant Kane MEMS Wearable Electrophysiological Sensors for Health Monitoring Prof. Dipti Gupta, Prof. Wenlong Cheng
2 Prasanna Ravindran Kamal Prakash Nair Bio Exploring the adhesive property of sickle cell of improved diagnosis Prof. Debjani Paul, Prof. Tuncay Alan
3 Sourabh Mehta Bio Smart Nanoparticles for Detection of Vulnerable Atherosclerotic Plaques and their Therapeutic Stabilisation Prof. Rinti Banerjee, Prof. Karlheinz Peter, Prof. Alex Bobik
4 Subramoni Hariharan CTARA High Quality Protein Extraction From Plant Based Sources Prof. Amit Arora, Prof. Antonio Patti
5 Vibha Kumari Bio Identification of human host factors required for human influenza virus assembly and budding Prof. Kiran Kondabagil, Prof. Rommel Mathias, Prof. Sunil K Lal
6 Aman Pandey Chemistry Design, Synthesis and Application of biocatalysts for Continuous Flow Synthesis Prof. Anil Kumar, Prof. Neil Cameron
7 Balu Raveendran MEMS Nanomaterials enabled Palpation device for cancer detection Prof. Dipti Gupta, Prof. Sunita Chauhan, Prof. Gita Pendharkar
8 Ami Lalit Mehta Bio Blood brain barrier (BBB) on chip Prof. Prasanna Gandhi, Prof. Nicolas Voelcker
9 Shachi Saluja Chemical Ophthalmic drug delivery with porous silicon Prof. Jayesh Bellare, Prof. Nicolas Voelcker
10 Kusumika Sinha Roy CTARA Bioactives and Natural Dyes From Food and Agricultural Waste Sources Prof. Amit Arora, Prof. Antonio Patti, Prof. Kellie Tuck
11 Poornima V B CTARA Cellulose nanofibers recovery from fruits waste Prof. Amit Arora, Prof. Warren Batchelor
12 Sujata Walunj Bio The novel nuclear transport molecule importing from Plasmodium falciparum; potential drug target Prof. Swati Patankar, Prof. David A. Jans
13 Parvathy Nair Electrical Novel health monitoring system with analysis for patients with mental disorders Prof. Maryam Shojaei Baghini, Prof. Faezeh Marzbanrad, Prof. Gita Pendharkar
14 Anjana P Menon Chemistry Role of bacterial sugar-based lipids in mediating membrane-induced cell death. Prof. Shobhna Kapoor, Prof. Mibel Aguilar
15 Mallikarjuna Korrapati MEMS Tactile sensor array for biomedical applications Prof. Dipti Gupta,Prof. Sunita Chauhan, Prof. Gita Pendharkar
16 Monica Upadhyay BIO Finding cues for metabolism inside giant virus particles – Are giant viruses ‘alive’? Prof. Kiran Kondabagil, Prof. Gregory Moseley
17 Arkasubhro Chatterjee CTARA Pectin Based films/gels for antibiotic/antifungal applications Prof. Amit Arora,Prof. Antonio Patti, Prof. Phil Andrews
18 Rafath Abdul Nassar Chemical Modeling and simulations of propulsion and swimming in microorganisms Prof. Sameer Jadhav, Prof. Prabhakar Ranganathan
19 Anup kumar Prasad MEMS Amyloid formation in frog peptides: Exploring peptide-lipid interactions Prof. Ajay Singh Panwar, Prof. Lisandra Martin
20 Kajal Sharma Chemical Microfluidic route to generation of core-shell fibers for drug delivery Prof. Venkat Gundabala, Prof. Tuncay Alan
21 Silpa Mariya Chemical Engineering Modelling the subdiffusive motion of bacteriophages within mucus Prof.P Sunthar,Prof. Jeremy J.Barr and Prof.Ravi Prakash Jagadeeshan
22 Aswin Paul Electrical Engineering The Arrow of Sophistication in Biological Self-Organization Dr Manoj Gopalakrishnan (IIT Bombay) and Dr Adeel Razi (Monash University