Academy Awards

Sumit Tripathi – Video accepted in the Gallery of Fluid Motion (2015), APS Division of Fluid Dynamics

Transporting highly viscous fluids (e.g. heavy oil) via pipelines requires huge pressure-drop and makes the transportation extremely energy-intensive, even with large diameter pipes. So far, different methods are proposed to reduce the effective viscosity of such fluids like: heating; blending with lighter oils or petroleum products; lubrication by introducing a water layer between the oil and pipeline material; oil-in-water emulsification, among others. Out of these methods the water lubricated core annular flow (CAF) has been found to be the most economic and effective way and is extensively reported in the literature. In CAF, pumping pressures are balanced by wall-shear stresses in the water. The lubricated flow requires pressure-drop comparable to pumping water alone and depends only weakly on the viscosity of the core-fluid. In this video, we demonstrate the interesting behavior of interfacial waves in the water lubricated CAF for different flow-rate combinations of core and annular fluids. The study is performed with two highly viscous core fluids: i) furnace-oil and ii) high internal phase emulsion (HIPE). It is seen that the CAF tends toward axisymmetric flow at higher flow-rates of core-fluid. Also, a stable CAF can be achieved with different flow-rate combinations and the stability depends on fluid and flow properties.

Vishal Vikram – Young Scientist Award

Vikram Vishal of the IITB Monash Research Academy has bagged the prestigious Young Scientist Award 2011, at the Indian Science Congress, inaugurated by Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh in Chennai. The award was presented to him on January 4th by Nobel Laureate Dr. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan as recognition to his research contributions and achievements in the field of Earth System Sciences so far. He holds publications on petrop physical characterization, rock mechanics, slope analysis and Coal Bed Methane to his credit. He is currently researching on the numerical simulation of carbon di oxide sequestration and recovery of methane from coal seams under the supervision of Prof. T. N. Singh at IIT Bombay and Prof. R. P. Gamage at Monash University. Prior to this, he received the Young Scientist Award by the Cafet Innova Technical Society during the International Conference on Earth Sciences and Engineering at Hyderabad in 2010.

Amrita Poyekar – Best Poster Paper Award

We are glad to let you know that our student Amrita Poyekar’s poster titled “Conducting composites of multiwall carbon nanotubes involving co-continuous blends of polyamide 6 and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene” has been awarded the “Best Poster Paper” in the International Symposium on Advances in Nano materials (ANM 2010) organized by Nano-Structured Materials Division, Central Glass and Ceramic Research institute, Kolkata (India) during 6 – 7, 2010.

Academy Awards Event Sponsors